You can either pre or post-moderate comments and conversations made to your Zapnito site. In this article, when we mention comments we are referring to both comments made on content and conversations that happen within rooms: both are moderated in the same way.
(Note that in order to action this, you will need to be in a group with the 'Moderate comments' ability.)
Adjust your comment publication settings
You can update this from the Comments management area found under the cog icon in the top right-hand corner of the page. You will see a toggle that allows you to Publish comments immediately.
When this is enabled, comments will appear on the site without pre-moderation. When it is disabled, you will need to approve comments before they can be displayed to non-admin users on the site.
In this area, you will see all previously approved or blocked comments as well as a list of those comments awaiting moderation, i.e. yet to be approved or blocked. You will see buttons that allow you to approve or block comments as required.
Comment moderators can receive two different types of email to let them know that there are comments that need moderation.
If pre-moderation is enabled, it is possible to receive an email for every comment made or an email once a day if there are one or more comments to moderate.
If you are using post-moderation, you can still be alerted to every comment made on your site. You will need to belong to a group with the ability to be notified about new comments.
To check which comment moderation emails you are using on your site, contact email@example.com.
If you have received an email notifying you of a comment made by a user, click the 'Moderate comment' button in the email, which will take you straight to the content that has been commented on or the conversation that has been started or added to.
Block, approve or delete?
Once you have located the comment, click the three dots which will present the options to block or approve the comment.
You can also delete the comment from this page, which will remove all record of the comment from your site. It’s generally best to block rather than delete comments in case of any dispute about your moderation decision, but the choice is yours!
If you approve, block or delete a user’s comment, they will receive an email informing them of your decision.