Rooms can be thought of as sub-communities of your wider community, a way to bring together people with shared interests.
This article contains the following sections:
To begin setting up your rooms, head to the cog in the top right-hand corner of the page and select 'Rooms', where you will find the green 'Create Room' button.
Give your room a name, a description - which can be up to 255 characters in length - and an optional 'About' section where you can describe the purpose of the room in greater detail.
Next, choose from one of the following privacy options:
- Public = The room is visible to everyone
- Private = The room is only visible to signed in users
- Secret = The room is only visible to members/contributors of the room
If you have opted to create a public room, you can also configure the SEO settings of the room to define how it will appear to search engines. This is an optional step however if you don't fill this out it will be auto-completed with the room name and description:
Next, you can upload a poster image to be displayed at the top of the room page. We recommend that room poster images are at least 1280 x 960 pixels, should be in a landscape orientation (horizontal) and can be in JPG or PNG format.
Finally, you can configure whether content, room conversations and room directories should be:
- Visible to everyone
- Visible only to signed in users
From the room management page, you can add or remove members/contributors from the room. You can invite users by searching for their name or by entering their email address.
(To learn more about the different methods to invite users to rooms, check out our handy guide.)
Under the cog next to the green 'Add Members/Contributors' button, you will find the room directory settings.
From here, you can:
- Edit the directory name and search label
- Choose which custom fields to display as filters in the directory
- Choose between relevance (based on your custom field selections) or name ascending as the default sort order
- Define which group(s) you would like to be displayed in the directory
You can make edits to any of the room details at any time.
Note that if you had originally made content and conversations visible in the room but then decide to hide them, any that had already been published will remain visible to users in the room.
If you would like users in the room receive notifications for each new conversation, you need to ensure that you have enabled conversation notifications from the room edit page.
Individual users can configure their own conversation notification preferences from their Account Settings.
We have created the below matrix to explain which room notifications are delivered to users. This is influenced by their room membership status; group abilities; if they are following a user; as well as the room's privacy settings:
Reordering, Archiving & Deleting
You have the ability to create as many rooms as you want in your Community. If your list of rooms is getting rather long, you may wish to reorganise them to ensure that a specific room appears at the top of the Rooms listing.
To do this, click the three dots next to the room and select 'Reorder'. This will enable you to move the room to the very top of the order, or you can select a custom position by choosing the item it should be displayed under.
If you would like to archive a room to prevent further content from being added to it, click the three dots next to the room and select 'Archive'. The room will now appear under the Archived tab in your Rooms Settings, but will still be accessible and visible to members of the room from the Rooms listing.
If you would like to delete a room altogether, you can do so from the Archived tab, under the three dots next to the room.
For any help setting up rooms, contact us at email@example.com or leave a comment below this article.