If a user has, for example, violated your Community Policy, you may wish to remove their access without deleting them, to ensure that they are not able to re-register with the same email address.
This article contains the following sections:
Create a Blocked Users group
Head to the Groups settings page and select 'New Group'.
Name the group 'Blocked Users' and hit save. This group should have no abilities in order to restrict users to the fullest extent possible.
Then, head to the Users page and search for the user you want to block. You need to ensure that the user has been removed from all other groups that they are a member of.
Once they have been removed from all other groups, head back to the Blocked Users group and add them to it.
Using this method, the user will still be able to login to your site but they will be restricted from performing any actions.
An alternative to the 'Blocked Users' group method is deactivation of a user's account. This will ensure that the user can no longer login to your site, however their profile, content and conversations will remain on the site and still be accessible.
This can only be actioned by Zapnito so if you would like to deactivate a user's account on your site, get in touch with us at email@example.com.
Please sign in to leave a comment.