Skip to main content

How to block a user on your Zapnito site

Comments

6 comments

  • Jodi Hughes - AVIXA

    Thanks Alex! One more question on this:

    I blocked (added to blocked users group) a user, Vishal Malhotra, yesterday afternoon and removed him from the user group. Unlike deleting a user which takes 24 hours, blocking them is immediate. At 1:59 am I was notified he had published this post Where can I buy top of the line package testing instruments? | AVIXA Xchange. I'd been logging in as the user and unpublishing their content before blocking - I must have missed removing his previous content so I'll go in later, activate him for a minute so that I can delete his posts, and then re-block him, but how was this able to happen? If I log in as him, I don't have access to post, so how is this possible? I know this "company" has multiple users, but this was from a blocked profile. 

    0
  • Jodi Hughes - AVIXA

    Alex, can the profile of a blocked user still be found by other users?

    0
  • Alex Thompson

    Hi Jodi - it wouldn't be possible for a blocked user to publish a piece of content. I've taken a look at this user's GS session history and it appears that they created the post several hours before they were added to the blocked user group on the 26th June (please ignore the recent session history as that was me signed in as them).

    0
  • Jodi Hughes - AVIXA

    Hi Alex, actually I logged out (so made sure I was just a regular user w/o any admin privileges). I did a search for one of the spam profiles that we have been receiving lately and the profile was accessible to me). Is that because I did a direct search for them?

    0
  • Alex Thompson

    Hi Jodi - the profile of a blocked user would not be discoverable by other users on the site due to them not having the 'Allow profile' ability, meaning that the profile is completely hidden.

    The only way another user would be able to discover the blocked profile is if they had the admin ability, 'Access hidden profile'. 

    Let me know if you have any questions?

    0
  • Alex Thompson

    Hi Jodi - I've investigated this further and found that the reason the profiles are discoverable is due to them still having their profile visibility settings set to 'true'. You can see this yourself if you temporarily enable the 'visibility enabled' toggle in your registration settings, sign in as one of the blocked users and visit the Edit Profile page.

    If you disable this toggle for each of the users they will no longer be discoverable on the site. Apologies for the additional effort involved with this, unfortunately removing the 'Allow profile' ability does not automatically override this setting; as an outcome of this what we are going to do is discuss internally whether this is something that should happen automatically and if so, we will updated the platform accordingly.

    Thank you for your understanding.

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.